Skip to content

Restoration Trio Sonatas

Ref: PC4 ISBN: 9780852499283 ISMN: 9790220223426 Categories: ,


Purcell Society Companion Series Vol 4.
Edited by Peter Holman and John Cunningham

Highly appealing to scholars and amateur and professional performers alike, the nine pieces in this collection comprise all the known trio sonatas that survive complete and appear to have been written in England during the reign of Charles II by composers other than Purcell. John Blow’s G minor Ground and Sonata in A, and a G minor sonata by Draghi, not only stand comparison with music of the younger composer, but also, in their varied approach to form, throw fascinating light on his more Italianate approach to the genre. All the sonatas – works by Robert King (a Sonetta after the Italion way), Johann Gottfried Keller, Nicola Matteis senior and Gerhard Diesineer – are attractive to play and listen to, and the collection, also including surviving violin parts from works by Blackwell and Eastwick, significantly extends our understanding of the context in which Purcell’s famed sonatas arose. Performing material is available.

Back To Top