Skip to content

English Keyboard Concertos 1740–1815


Edited by Peter Lynan
First published in 2013
Pages: 432
Format: Hardback
Dimensions (mm): 330 x 254 x 37
Weight: 2.35kg

This anthology presents organ, harpsichord and piano concertos – the majority not hitherto published in modern editions – by Handel’s contemporaries and successors, including works by Felton, Cooke, William Hayes, Arne, Chilcot, Philip Hayes, Hook, Rush, Stanley, Charles Wesley, Crotch, Samuel Wesley and Russell, from among the 200 examples surviving from the period c.1740–c.1815. Among the most versatile genres of the time, it found popularity in pleasure garden, theatre, concert room and the home. The contents of this volume show the form adapting well to the stylistic evolutions of the period from late Baroque via continental gallant styles to a mature Classical style, though retaining a strong native tradition linked with Handelian oratorio in the idiomatic distinction between virtuoso piano concerto and concertos for organ.

Any individual work from this volume is available in printed or digital (PDF) format on request (


Composer Title
ARNE, Thomas Concerto no. 5 in G minor
CHILCOT, Thomas Concerto set 1 no. 2 in A minor
COOKE, Benjamin Concerto in D major
CROTCH, William Concerto no. 2 in A major
FELTON, William ‘Adagio in the 1st Concerto of Mr Felton’ (elaborated version)
FELTON, William Concerto op. 1 no. 1 in C major
HAYES, Philip Concerto no. 3 in F major
HAYES, William Concerto in D major
HOOK, James Concerto no. 1 in C major
RUSH, George Concerto no. 3 in B flat major
RUSSELL, William Concerto in G major
STANLEY, John Concerto op. 10 no. 4 in C minor
WESLEY, Charles Concerto set 3 no. 2 in E major
WESLEY, Samuel Adagio
WESLEY, Samuel Concerto in D major
Back To Top