Skip to content

Dering, Richard: Motets for One, Two or Three Voices and Basso Continuo

Ref: MB87 ISBN: 9780852498989 ISMN: 9790220221989 Categories: , By:


Edited by Jonathan Wainwright
First published in 2008
Pages: 208
Format: Hardback
Dimensions (mm): 330 x 254 x 25
Weight: 1.49kg

The music of Dering forms a lively commentary on the complex artistic interchange between England and the continent in the early seventeenth century, and the picture is extended with this collection of small-scale settings of Latin texts with continuo accompaniment. Performed both in the chapel of Queen Henrietta Maria and in the residential quarters of Oliver Cromwell, these pieces were clearly much in demand for intimate devotional observances. Motets from printed and manuscript sources are included, as well as incomplete works plausibly attributed to the composer.

Any individual work from this volume is available in printed or digital (PDF) format on request (; works currently available are linked below.


Title Instrumentation
Alleluia, gaudeamus CCB bc
Anima Christi (attrib.) CB bc
Ardens est cor meum CB bc
Ardens est cor meum Short score & voice and lute arrangement
Augustine / O Messia (attrib.) -TB bc [lacks 1 voice]
Beatus Laurentius / O felix ecclesia (attrib.) CB [bc]
Beatus vir qui inventus est TT bc
Canite Jehovae canticum novum CB bc
Cantate Domino canticum novum CCB bc
Conceptio tua Dei genitrix virgo CB bc
Confitemini Domino (attrib.) [B]BB bc
Dulcissime Jesu Christe (attrib.) CB bc
Duo seraphin clamabant (i) CC bc
Duo seraphin clamabant (ii) (attrib.) C (or T) B bc
Ego dormio et cor meum vigilat BB bc
Ego sum resurrectio (attrib.) C (or T) B bc
Exsultate justi in Domino (attrib.) CC- [bc] [lacks 1 voice & bc]
Exsultavit cor meum (attrib.) CCB bc
Gaudent in caelis animae Sanctorum CC bc
Gloria Patri ATB bc
Gloria tibi Trinitas (attrib.) T [bc] [lacks bc]
Gratias tibi Deus CB bc
Hei mihi Domine (attrib.) CB bc
Hierusalem quae aedificatur (attrib.) C (or T) B bc
Isti sunt sancti CCB bc
Jesus auctor clementiae (attrib.) B [bc]
Justus cor suum tradidit TB bc
Justus germinabit sicut lilium TTB bc
Laetamini cum Maria CTB bc
Laetatus sum (attrib.) C (or T) B bc
Miserere mei Deus CB bc
O bone Jesu TT (B) bc
O crux/Rex ave spes unica C (or T) B bc
O Domine Jesu Christe, adoro te (a) CB bc
O Domine Jesu Christe, adoro te (b) C (or T) B bc
O Domine Jesu Christe, miserere mei ATB bc
O dulcissime Jesu (attrib.) -AB [bc] [lacks 1 voice & bc]
O lux et decus Hispaniae CTB bc
O Maria / O Messia (attrib.) C-B bc [lacks 1 voice]
O nomen Jesu CCB bc
O quam suavis est, Domine CTB bc
O sacrum convivium (i) (attrib.) C (or T) B bc
O sacrum convivium (ii) (attrib.) CB bc
Panis angelicus fit panis hominum CCB bc
Paratum cor meum Deus (attrib.) C-B bc [lacks 1 voice]
Propitius esto Domine (attrib.) CT [bc] [lacks bc]
Protector noster aspice Deus (attrib.) CC [bc] [lacks bc]
Qualis est dilectus tuus CTB bc
Quemadmodum desiderat cervus (attrib.) C-B [bc] [lacks 1 voice & bc]
Sancta et immaculata virginitas TT bc
Si diligis me, Simon Petre (attrib.) CT- [bc] [lacks 1 voice & bc]
Te gloriosus Apostolorum (attrib.) C-B [bc] [lacks 1 voice & bc]
Tibi laus, tibi gloria CTB bc
Tres sunt, qui testimonium dant in caelo (attrib.) C (or T) B bc
Tua Jesu dilectio (attrib.) T [bc] [lacks bc]
Veni electa mea Cicilia CB bc
Veni sponsa Christi CC[B] bc
Vulnerasti cor meum TTB bc
Back To Top