skip to Main Content

Ward, John: Consort Music of Four Parts


Edited by Ian Payne
First published in 2005
Pages: 144
Format: Hardback
Dimensions (mm): 330 x 254 x 20

John Ward’s music for four viols shows less consistency of style than his work for five- or six-part consort. The smooth madrigalian lines of the six Oxford fantasias most clearly approach the accomplishment of his characteristic pieces for larger ensembles. The Paris fantasias, which with the In nomines also included in the collection feature uniquely in a single source in the Bibliothèque Nationale de France, are more variable in texture and idiom. The volume also includes six ayres for two bass viols and organ, brief, tuneful compositions in dance-like rhythm redolent of the almain.

Full contents and other works by John Ward…(PDF)

Ref: MB83 ISBN: 9780852498859 ISMN: 9790220221323 Categories: , , , By:
Back To Top