Skip to content

Locke, Matthew: Dramatic Music (including Psyche)

Ref: MB51 ISBN: 9780852496244 ISMN: 9790220210488 Categories: , , , By:


Edited by Michael Tilmouth
First published in 1986
Pages: 272
Format: Paperback
Dimensions (mm): 330 x 254 x 24
Weight: 1.45kg

A collection that highlights Locke’s pivotal role in laying the foundations of English dramatic music, combining the traditions of the Masque with the new optimistic manner of recitative. This volume also contains The Empress of Morocco and The Tempest, with the music by Humfrey, Banister, Reggio and Hart.

The Empress of Morocco, (Elkanah Settle) 1673
The Tempest (Shakespeare, Dryden, Davenant, Shadwell) 1674
Psyche (Shadwell) 1675

Performing material for Psyche is available for rental.

Other works by Locke…(PDF)

Back To Top