skip to Main Content

Humfrey, Pelham: Complete Church Music I


Edited by Peter Dennison
First published in 1972, reprinted with corrections 1985
Pages: 162
Format: Paperback
Dimensions (mm): 330 x 254 x 15
Weight: 0.908kg

Spanning the years 1663-1674, Humfrey’s output provides a most significant legacy from the Restoration period. The 12 verse anthems in this volume show the evolution of a distinctively English baroque style through a mixture of continental influences. String parts for ‘Have mercy upon me O God’ and ‘Lift up your heads’ are available through the Made-to-Order Service (contact the archive department for further information).

Full contents and other works by Humphrey…(PDF)

Ref: MB34 ISBN: 9780852494325 ISMN: 9790220208362 Categories: , , , By:


Title Instrumentation
Almighty God, who mad’st thy blessed Son SATB
By the waters of Babylon SATTB
Haste thee O God SATTB
Have mercy upon me O God (1) SATB
Have mercy upon me O God (2) SATB
Hear my crying O God SATB
Hear my prayer O God SATB
Hear O heav’ns SATB
I will always give thanks (The Club Anthem) SATB
Lift up your heads SATB
Like as the hart SATB
Lord teach us to number our days SATB
O be joyful SATB
Back To Top