skip to Main Content

The Eton Choirbook III


Edited by Frank Harrison. Third revised edition prepared by Magnus Williamson
First published in 1961, revised 1973. Third revised edition published 2010.
Pages: 240
Format: Hardback
Dimensions (mm): 330 x 254 x 29

The third part of the Eton Choirbook introduces four composers not previously featured – Holyngbourne, Nesbett, Stratford and Turges – and includes Davy’s St Matthew Passion and Wylkynson’s setting of the Apostles’ Creed. Magnus Williamson’s revision of Volume III retains the examplary editing by Frank Harrison. However, the fragmentary antiphons and Magnificat settings, previously presented as incipits only, are now included in complete transcriptions. Though still unperformable, they are nonetheless of considerable musical interest, and faburden melodies and plainsong cantus fermi relevant to these pieces have been provided in an expanded Appendix.

Full contents…(PDF)

Individual titles from this volume are available as licensed PDF files…

Ref: MB12 ISBN: 9780852499146 ISMN: 9790220222597 Categories: , , , , ,
Back To Top