skip to Main Content

Restoration Music for Three Violins, Bass Viol and Continuo


Transcribed and edited by Peter Holman and John Cunningham
First published in 2018
Pages: 184
Format: Hardback
Dimensions (mm): 330 x 254 x 22

Music for three violins and bass formed a small yet distinctive corpus of instrumental music at the Restoration court of Charles II and in the Catholic chapel of James II. Introduced to England by the German violinist Thomas Baltzar, the genre was adopted by John Jenkins, whose ten late fantasia-suites for three violins, bass viol and continuo, together with Gottfried Finger’s five sonatas for the same group of instruments, constitute the bulk of this volume. Other representative works include Baltzar’s own Suite in C major and Bartholomew Isaack’s Ground in A minor, all fascinating progenitors of Purcell’s crowning contributions to the repertoire, his Pavan in G minor and ‘Three Parts upon a Ground’.

Performing material is now available.

Full contents…(PDF)

Ref: MB103 ISBN: 9780852499535 ISMN: 9790220225178 Categories: , , ,


Thomas Baltzar (?1631–63)
Suite in C major

John Jenkins (1592–1678)
Suite No. 1 in D major
Suite No. 2 in D minor
Suite No. 3 in G minor
Suite No. 4 in A minor
Suite No. 5 in A major
Suite No. 6 in F major
Suite No. 7 in B flat major
Suite No. 8 in C major
Suite No. 9 in C minor
Suite No. 10 in E minor

Bartholomew Isaack  (1661–1709)
Ground in A minor

Nicola Matteis  (fl.c.1670–90)
Ground in D minor

Gottfried Finger  (c.1655–1730)
Sonata in E minor. Op 1 No 7
Sonata in G minor. Op 1 No 8
Sonata in D major. Op 1 No 9
Sonata in E minor. Op 1 No 7
Sonata in B flat major

Gottfried Finger: Sonata in C major
(the extant violin 2 part)

Back To Top