skip to Main Content

Keyboard Solos and Duets


by Nicholas Carleton, John Amner and John Tomkins.
Six pieces from Musica Britannica Volume 96. Edited by Alan Brown.

Complementary to K49, this collection is a unique offering of music by John Amner, Nicholas Carleton and John Tomkins that is the only surviving keyboard music by the respective composers. In addition to a pair of duets, in themselves an unusual feature from the period, there are two lengthy sets of variations, Amner’s being a rare example of those on a metrical psalm or hymn-tune (possibly by Tallis in this case), John Tomkins’s being more conventionally modelled on the variation sets of William Byrd. Nicholas Carleton’s ‘A verse of 4 parts’ and ‘Upon the sharp’ include several examples of unusual chromatic notation and wide-ranging tonal schemes.

Ref: K48 ISMN: 9790220224454 Categories: , ,

Prelude (for two to play): Nicholas Carleton?
A verse (In nomine) for two to play: Nicholas Carleton
A verse of 4 parts: Nicholas Carleton
Upon the sharp: Nicholas Carleton
O Lord, in thee is all my trust: John Amner
John come kiss me now: John Tomkins

Back To Top