Skip to content

Samuel, Rhian: Dawnsiau’r nant (Dances of the stream). Rental

Ref: HL335 ISMN: 9790220219689 Categories: , By:

1999 [15′]
Full score and instrumental parts

Duration: 15 minutes
For two flutes, piccolo, two oboes, cor anglais, two clarinets, bass clarinet, two bassoons, contrabassoon, four horns, three trumpets, three trombones, tuba, timpani, xylophone, marimba, vibraphone, percussion (three players), harp, piano and strings

Please contact the Hire Library for further details.

  1. Dawns yr haul ar y nant (Dance of the sun on the stream) (I)
  2. Dawns y cymylau tywyll (Dance of the dark clouds)
  3. Dawns yr haul ar y nant (Dance of the sun on the stream) (II)
  4. Dawns y gwlaw ar y nant (Dance of the rain on the stream)
  5. Dawns yr haul ar y nant (Dance of the sun on the stream) (III)

Commissioned by St David’s Hall, Cardiff, with funds provided by the Arts Council of Wales, for the Welsh Proms 1999
1st perf: BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Owain Arwel Hughes (cond), St David’s Hall, Cardiff, 15 July 1999
1st broadcast perf: same performers, 9 November 1999 (BBC Radio 3)

This work of great immediacy made a striking impression in all five sections, which emerge as a cohesive whole. The bright opening with its rippling figure on woodwind and piano, punctuated with rhythmic motifs from the rest of the orchestra, contrasted strongly with the darker, more sinister sections … Composed in bold colours and strong emotions, this was a splendid performance by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales … Let’s hope it receives many further performances.

Michael Bell, The Western Mail, 17 July 1999

Back To Top