Skip to content

Arne, Thomas: Alfred (extended excerpts). Rental

Ref: HL330 ISMN: 9790220220104 Categories: , By:

Edited by Alexander Scott
Full score, 7 soloists’ parts, 16 chorus parts and instrumental

Duration: 51 minutes
For two sopranos, two mezzo sopranos, countertenor, two tenor soloists and SATB chorus, with flute, two oboes, bassoon, two horns, two trumpets, timpani, side drum and strings

Please contact the Hire Library for further details.

Broadcast as part of the BBC’s 1995 “Fairest Isle” celebrations of British music, these extended excerpts from Arne’s Alfred include:
Overture; Duet: The shepherd’s plain life; Air: Sweet valley say;
Trio: Let not those who love complain; Air: Love’s the tyrant of the heart;
Air: From the dawn of early morning; Air: Hear, Alfred, hear;
Air: Gracious heav’n, O hear me; Air: Vengeance, O come inspire me;
Air: There honour comes, a pilgrim grey; Recitative: Ah me, what fears oppress;
Air: Guardian angels, O descend; March with a side drum;
Ode (with chorus): Rule, Britannia.

Back To Top