skip to Main Content

Stanford, Charles V: Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra, Op. 80. Rental

Full score and instrumental material

Ref: HL186 ISMN: 9790220220418 Categories: , , , By:


Duration: 22 minutes
For solo clarinet, two flutes, two oboes, two bassoons, four horns, two trumpets, timpani and strings

The Clarinet Concerto opus 80 by Sir Charles Villiers Stanford is among his most popular and enduring instrumental pieces, and one of the few clarinet concertos from the romantic period to be a permanent addition to the repertoire. It was written for the celebrated virtuoso Richard Mühlfeld, whose playing was the inspiration for the late chamber works for clarinet by Stanford’s musical hero Johannes Brahms. In the event, however, Mühlfeld declined to give the premiere, which was presented by the eminent British soloist Charles Draper at a Philharmonic Society concert on 2 June 1904 at the Queen’s Hall, London, conducted by the composer. Stanford was known for his irascible nature. The autograph, which has been consulted in the preparation of this performing material, very visibly bears in Beethovenian fashion the scratching out of the original dedicatee’s name on the front cover.

© Copyright 2015 Stainer & Bell Ltd

Please contact the Hire Library for further details.

Perusal Score (complete)

Larger page preview…

Back To Top