skip to Main Content

Depart in Peace


Fifteen pieces for use at Funerals and Memorial Services
Arranged by John Norris

Well-chosen music is an essential adjunct to the dignity and reverence of funerals and acts of remembrance, comforting those who mourn, and shining light upon the personality of the departed person.

Among these fifteen new arrangements, organists will find a wealth of material from which to select the right piece appropriate to the occasion. There are classics such as Mendelssohn’s O rest in the Lord and Handel’s Dead March from Saul, romantic masterpieces like Elgar’s Nimrod and Mahler’s Adagietto, as well as a contemporary favourite, Candle in the Wind, which featured so memorably at the funeral of Diana, Princess of Wales.

A leading arranger and teacher for the organ, John Norris has also included his own Improvisation on Brother James’ Air, an arrangement of Sibelius’s Finlandia (‘Be still, my soul’), and a novelty item The Broken Melody by Auguste van Biene. The collection concludes, appropriately, with Stanford’s uplifting Nunc Dimittis from the Evening Service in C.

Ref: H464 ISMN: 9790220222139 Categories: , , By:

1. Bist du bei mir (Bach)
2. Nimrod (from the Enigma Variations) (Elgar)
3. Finlandia (‘Be still, my soul’) (Sibelius)
4. Candle in the Wind (Elton John & Bernie Taupin)
5. The Broken Melody (Auguste van Biene)
6. Contakion of the Dead (‘Give rest, O Christ’) (Kiev Melody)
7. O rest in the Lord (from Elijah) (Mendelssohn)
8. Prelude (from the 48 Preludes & Fugues) (Bach)
9. Dead March (from Saul) (Handel)
10. Largo (from the ‘New World’ Symphony) (Dvorak)
11. Improvisation on Brother James’ Air (Norris (after Bain))
12. I know that my redeemer liveth (from Messiah) (Handel)
13. Libera me (from the Requiem) (Verdi)
14. Adagietto (from the Fifth Symphony) (Mahler)
15. Nunc Dimittis (from the Evening Service in C) (Stanford)

Back To Top