skip to Main Content

Brown, Christine: Chandos Suite for Violins, Cello and Piano


Score and Parts
[PDF Sample]
Standard: Elementary

Ref: H440 ISMN: 9790220220920 Categories: , , , By:


Christine Brown was a highly respected teacher and composer for young people, and in her Chandos Suite for violin, cello and piano she marries her wealth of practical experience in coaching elementary players in the art of chamber music with her distinctively tuneful way of writing for the three instruments. A whistful Prelude precedes a mysterious scherzo of plucked and bowed whole-tone scales. A Serenade gives all the players a chance to shine in cantabile melody before the pulsating rhythms of the final Dance bring the suite to a brilliant conclusion. The Chandos Suite is a worthy addition to Stainer & Bell’s collection of classic piano trios for young musicians, including popular works by Frank Bridge, Adam Carse, Cornelius Gurlitt and Peter Martin.

Back To Top