skip to Main Content

Gibbons, Orlando: First Set of Madrigals and Motets for Five Parts (1612)


Gibbons seems to have been outside the process ‘by which’, wrote Joseph Kerman in The Elizabethan Madrigal, ‘England first became sophisticated in the ways of Continental music.’ These 20 pieces certainly, if differently, follow the pure line of William Byrd and are still of the old ‘English’ school. They include The Silver Swan and Dainty Fine Bird.

Edited Edmund Fellowes
Revised Thurston Dart

Individual titles from this volume are available as Adobe PDF files…


Ah dear heart (SAA (or T) A (or T) B)
Dainty fine bird (SST (or A) TB)
Fair is the rose (SA (or S) ATB)
Fair ladies that to love (SSAT (or A) B)
Farewell all joys (SSA (or T) A (or T) B)
How art thou thralled (SS (or A) TTB)
I feign not friendship (SSAT (or A) B)
I see Ambition never pleased (SSATB)
I tremble not at noise of war (SSAT (or A) B)
I weigh not fortune’s frown (SSAT (or A) B)
Lais now old (SATT (or A) B)
Mongst thousands good (SSAT (or A) B)
Nay let me weep (SA (or S) T (or A) T (or A) B)
Ne’er let the sun (SAT (or A) TB)
Now each flowery bank of May (SST (or A) TB)
O that the learned poets (SSA (or T) B ( or T) B)
Silver Swan, The (SSA (or T) B (or T) B)
Trust not too much fair youth (SST (or A) TB)
What is our life? (SAA (or T) TB)
Yet if that age (SS (or A) T (or A) TB)

Back To Top