skip to Main Content

Kirbye, George: First Set of English Madrigals (1597)


Edited Edmund Fellowes. Revised Thurston Dart and Philip Brett

Individual titles from this volume are available as Adobe PDF files…

Ah, cruel, hateful fortune (SSA(orT)A(orT)T(orB)B)
Ah, sweet, alas, when first I saw (SSATB)
Alas, what hope of speeding (SST(orA)B)
Bright Phoebus greets most clearly (SSAT (or A) T (or A) B)
Farewell, my love (SSAT)
If pity reign with beauty (SSATB)
I love, alas, yet am I not beloved (SSAA (or T) TB)
Lo, here my heart I leave (SSTB)
Mourn now, my soul (SSATB)
Must I part, O my jewel? (SSAATB)
O heavens, what shall I do? (SSATB)
See what a maze of error (SSATB)
She that my plaints (SSAT (or A) B)
Sleep now, my Muse (SSAATB)
Sleep now, my Muse (SSAT)
Sorrow consumes me (SSATB)
Sound out, my voice (SSATB)
Sweet love, 0 cease thy flying (SSA (or T) TB)
That Muse which sung (SSATB)
Up then, Melpomene (SSAT (or A) T (or B) B)
What can I do, my dearest? (SSAB)
What, shall I part thus? (SSAT (or A) B)
Why should I love? (SSATB)
Why wail we thus? (SSAT (or A) TB)
With Angel’s face and brightness (SSAT (or A) T (or A) B)
Woe am I, my heart dies (SSAB)

Back To Top