Skip to content

Early Tudor Organ Music I

Ref: EC65 ISBN: 9780852499719 ISMN: 9790220228520 Categories: , , , , ,


Edited by John Caldwell
First published in 2024
Pages: 246
Format: Hardback
Dimensions (mm): 325 x 250 x 25
Weight: 1.52kg

EECM65 and EECM66 revisit the repertoire of the ground-breaking volumes 6 and 10 in the series, Early Tudor Organ Music, in the light of 60 years of continuing research and deeper understanding of the surviving corpus. Some 109 works are brought together here, in the order in which they appear in each manuscript – British Library Additional MS 29996 accounting for three-quarters of the content, plus 22 works from other sources. There are settings for the Office (antiphons, hymns, the Te Deum and Magnificat) and Mass ordinary and propers (particularly the Offertory).

The format is of the same dimensions as other EECM volumes, although presented in landscape for more practical use. Containing music exclusively from Add. MS 29996, EECM65 includes updated composer biographies compiled by David Mateer, and introductory notes for the two volumes on cantus firmus techniques and metrical structure, counterpoint and musica ficta, alternatim practice, and an historical account of the early English organ.

In addition to numerous anonymous titles, composers found in these volumes include Avery Burnett, Robert Coxsun, William Kyrton, Thomas Preston, John Redford, Philip ap Rhys, Edmund Strowger, Thomas Tallis, John Thorne, Robert White and Richard Wynslate.

Back To Top