Skip to content

Fifteenth-Century Liturgical Music VIII: Settings of the Gloria and Credo

Ref: EC55 ISBN: 9780852499337 ISMN: 9790220223495 Categories: , ,


Edited by Peter Wright
First published in 2013
Pages: 328
Format: Hardback
Dimensions (mm): 324 x 246 x 30

This volume brings together 47 independent settings of the Gloria and Credo from the period c.1400-40, most of which have never been published before. Nineteen of these settings are complete works preserved largely in continental manuscripts, the remainder fragmentary settings preserved in insular sources. They include works both by leading composers of the period (Forest, Power and Pycard) and by minor figures (Daye, Humfray, Knyf and Markham), as well as three settings that are here attributed conjecturally (to Byttering, Rowlard and Soursby). This collection includes examples of the main compositional styles and techniques of English liturgical polyphony of the late Middle Ages, and is intended to complement the Sanctus and Agnus dei settings of EECM 47.


Individual titles from this volume are available as Adobe PDF files…

Back To Top