Skip to content

Fifteenth-Century Liturgical Music: VII: The York Masses

Ref: EC52 ISBN: 9780852499016 ISMN: 9790220222016 Categories: ,


Edited by Theodor Dumitrescu
First published in 2010
Pages: 184
Format: Hardback
Dimensions (mm): 324 x 246 x 19

The publication of the fragments known as the ‘York Masses’ offers a prime opportunity for re-evaluating the wider context of English polyphonic Mass composition in the final decades of the fifteenth century. This source stands out as the only extended collection devoted entirely to music for the Mass Ordinary, and as such it provides a significant example of developments after the Brussels Masses. It can also suggest important correctives to the traditional historiographical idea of insular conservatism in Mass composition. The volume contains four Kyries, including Horwod’s O rex clemens, two each of Gloria-Credo and Sanctus-Agnus pairs, the Missa Venit dilectus meus attributed to Johannes Cuk, and a Gloria-Credo a 3.

Individual titles from this volume are available as Adobe PDF files…

Back To Top