Skip to content

Taverner, John: IV – Four- and Five-Part Masses

Ref: EC35 ISBN: 9780852497739 ISMN: 9790220216589 Categories: , By:


Edited by Hugh Benham
First published in 1989
Pages: 176
Format: Paperback
Dimensions (mm): 254 x 177 x 11

Taverner’s 4- and 5-part masses are shorter and simpler than his elaborately festal 6-part settings of the Ordinary. The 4-part Plainsong Mass is, for its time, unusually limited in its range of note values. The 5-part Mean Mass shows a continental unity of texture, rather than the marked differentiation between melody and rhythm that is more typical of early Tudor style. The Mass The Western Wind employs a secular cantus firmus and a resourceful variation technique. Quemadmodum are also included.

Mass: The Western Wind (TrMCB)
Mean Mass, The (MCCTB)
Plainsong Mass (CCTB)

Individual titles from this volume are available as Adobe PDF files…

Back To Top