skip to Main Content

Tye, Christopher: I – English Sacred Music


Edited by John Morehen
First published in 1977
Pages: 368
Format: A4 spiral-bound

There are particular problems of establishing authentic sources for much of Tye’s music. Nonetheless, its high quality places him, with Taverner and Tallis, at the forefront of English 16th-century church music. This first volume of his work contains 15 full anthems, evening canticles, and his famous setting of texts from The Acts of the Apostles, dedicated to Edward VI.

Individual titles from this volume are available as Adobe PDF files…

Ref: EC19 ISBN: 9780852494493 ISMN: 9790220216978 Categories: , , By:


Blessed are all they that fear the Lord
Christ rising again from the dead
Deliver us, good Lord
From the depth I called on thee
Give alms of thy goods
If ye be risen again with Christ
I have loved
I lift my heart to thee
I will exalt thee, O Lord
My trust, O Lord, in thee is grounded
O God be merciful unto us, and bless (early version)
O God be merciful unto us, and bless (later version)
O Lord of hosts
Praise ye the Lord, ye children
Save me, O God, for thy name’s sake
To Father, Son, and Holy Ghost
Nunc dimittis
Magnificat and Nunc dimittis
Tye: The Acts of the Apostles. Chapters I-XIV

Back To Top