Skip to content

Tallis, Thomas: I – English Sacred Music: I – Anthems

Ref: EC12 ISBN: 9780852495407 ISMN: 9790220216510 Categories: , By:


Edited by Leonard Ellinwood
First published in 1971
Pages: 144
Format: A4 spiral-bound

Tallis’s choral works with English texts were all written for the worship of God in the reformed Church of England, setting either the liturgy of the new Book of Common Prayer of 1549, or Coverdale’s vernacular bible. They testify to his position, undisputed even in his lifetime, as ‘the father of English church music’. This volume contains ten of the 11 anthems that can definitely be attributed to the composer, and five contrafacta anthems with Latin texts, which were published in Tallis and Byrd’s Cantiones Sacrae of 1575.

Contents and other titles by Tallis…

Individual titles from this volume are available as Adobe PDF files…

A new commandment
Blessed are those that be undefiled
Blessed be Thy name (Mihi autem nimis)
Fond youth is a bubble
Hear the voice and prayer
I call and cry to Thee, O Lord (O sacrum convivium)
If Ye love me
Like as the doleful dove
O Lord, give Thy Holy Spirit
O Lord, in Thee is all my trust
O ye tender babes
Out from the deep
Purge me, O Lord
Remember not, O Lord God
Remember not, O Lord God (Early Version)
Verily, verily, I say unto you
When Jesus went into Simon the Pharisee (Salvator mundi: II)
When shall my sorrowful sighing slake
Wipe away my sins (Absterge Domine)
With all our hearts (Salvator mundi: I)

Back To Top