Skip to content

Leighton, Sir William: The Tears or Lamentations of a Sorrowful Soul

Ref: EC11 ISBN: 9780852495391 ISMN: 9790220210273 Categories: , , By:


Edited by Cecil Hill
First published in 1970
Pages: 240
Format: A4 spiral-bound

The contents of this celebrated collection, presented by Leighton to Prince Charles in 1614, encompass most of the noted lutenist and keyboard composers of the day. Eighteen pieces meant for domestic worship are scored either for unaccompanied singing or for solo voice with available instruments of the ‘broken’ consort. The rest of the 55 pieces are for 4- or 5-part choir.

Contents and other titles by Leighton…

Individual titles from this volume are available as Adobe PDF files…

Back To Top