skip to Main Content

Simper, Caleb: Five Anthems for the Liturgical Year


SATB and organ
[PDF Sample]

Ref: D85 ISMN: 9790220213762 Categories: , , By:

Caleb Simper (1857-1942) was for many years amongst the most performed of living composers by virtue of his anthems and services, which were ‘sung throughout the civilised world’. To complement his ever popular voluntaries for the church year (still available from Stainer & Bell), five of his anthems are here reissued in a new edition by Simper’s biographer, Christopher Turner. Material for the Advent, Christmas, Easter, Whitsun and Harvest festivals, dedications and general use is included. Easy and enjoyable to sing, the music should win new admirers for the work of this eminent musical Victorian.

The anthems included are: He shall reign forever; I will feed my flock; If we believe that Jesus died; O how amiable; The Lord is in his holy temple.

Back To Top