skip to Main Content

Stanford, Charles V: Eight Partsongs, Op. 119


Unaccompanied SATB chorus

Ref: D104 ISMN: 9790220224966 Categories: , , By:


A jewel of English music, The Blue Bird first appeared as the third of these eight partsongs to words by the Victorian poet and novelist Mary Coleridge. Published shortly after her death in 1908, Op. 119 is the first of two such cycles composed in response to the refined sensibility of her poetry, which proved an ideal match for Stanford’s mastery of word-setting and of the romantic choral idiom.


  1. The Witch
  2. Farewell, my joy
  3. The Blue Bird
  4. The Train
  5. The Inkbottle
  6. The Swallow
  7. Chillingham
  8. My heart in thine
Back To Top