Skip to content

Sarah Rodgers

Sarah Rodgers

Sarah Rodgers read Music at Nottingham University, where she was the first woman conductor of the University Opera group and directed four performances of the first fully staged UK production of Halevy’s La Juive since its Covent Garden debut in 1893.

Sarah has gone on to chalk up a number of other firsts, including becoming the first woman to be appointed Director of the Mechanical-Copyright Protection Society, a post she held for seventeen years, and the first woman to be elected Chairman of BASCA, the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors. In 2003 she founded the BASCA British Composer Awards, leading their development for the first 11 years, and curating their tenth-anniversary concert in the Purcell Room. She was also Chairman of the Composers’ Guild of Great Britain, following in the distinguished footsteps of Elizabeth Maconchy and Ruth Gipps. During this time she was elected Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts and took part in a cultural exchange with members of the Russian House of Composers, when her music was performed in Moscow and St Petersburg.

Showing all 6 results

Back To Top